Scratch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scratch

Got a scratch on the car when trying to park it in a tight spot in the dark. Basically lost a fight with a bush cause it refused to fit in the end. Long story but basically it was park by a gang of drunk teens or squeeze past a bush. Failed and failed... Pretty annoyed to find the scratch but the car looks a bit messed after a week camping, just part of it I guess. Be giving it a good wash on Monday. As for the scratch I have a scuff removal kit that came with my superguard. Not sure if that will do it. Can feel the scratch and can see it as a black line on White paint. Anyone got any tips? Also what might a dealer charge to fix it? I have a rather nasty stone chip I'd like to get fixed so could get them both done.

You'd be surprised what can be buffed out with some polish, or perhaps the stuff you have there. (as long as you do it right)

I'm not a pro though.. You could try asking CliveP about it, or have a look on DetailingWorld, I'm sure there'll be a tutorial on scratch removal.

Good luck bud

Comment

Originally posted by Bensds3 View Post
      ...... Can feel the scratch and can see it as a black line on White paint. Anyone got any tips? Also what might a dealer charge to fix it? I have a rather nasty stone chip I'd like to get fixed so could get them both done.
      This suggests it is black laying on top of the white paint? i.e. the scratch isn't through the white paint to the metal? Is that the case as far as you can tell?

If it's black laying on the white, then pretty sure it would machine out. The scuff removal kit (I won't comment on supaguard) may remove it if it is laying on top of the white paint. If not a machine would likely lessen it considerably. Shame you're not nearer to me as I'd happily have a go tomorrow (Sat) for you...

Regards,
      Clive.
      CL11 VEP 2011 Former DSport Plus 150THP Sport Red, now something else.......