Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excessive Oil Consumption.

My wife has a DSport Cabrio 155 THP.
    It is an ex demo car bought with about 6000 miles on the clock. Current mileage is about 21000 and she does about 7000 miles a year. In the last few months, the Top Up Oil message has come up about every 3 or 4 weeks!Real pain in the arse. Fortunately,the car is under warranty until 1st March 2016, so I am going to take it into the dealers asap.I know there are previous oil consumtion threads, but has anyone got any views?I also reckon the dipstick should win a gold medal for being a pain in the arse, as well!
    Last edited by Seagull; 13-12-2015, 17:07.

When I first bought mine, the first thing an independent mechanic said to me was ' check your oil regularly'. He reckoned they could use 1L per 1000 miles. However, I've never had to top mine up but I have only done 5500 miles since end of January.
    "I'm a writer. I give the truth scope."
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010501688560

Comment

Is there any sign of it going elsewhere? So leaks, sooty tail pipe/rear bumper e.t.c.
      Crystal White pearl Mazda 3 Takuya 1.6
      Whisper Purple/White DS3 Dstyle plus 1.6 e-Hdi

Comment

Originally posted by StevenRB45 View Post
        Is there any sign of it going elsewhere? So leaks, sooty tail pipe/rear bumper e.t.c.
        Certainly no sign of any leaks, Steven, and I'm pretty certain there is no sign of any soot.I will check in daylight tomorrow!

Comment

Update.
          Have spoken to local dealer who say that an acceptable rate of oil consumption for this engine is half a litre per 1000km/621 miles!!
          Sounds a heck of a lot to me.Anyway, I have booked the car in for shortly after Christmas.

Comment

Originally posted by Seagull View Post
            Update.
            Have spoken to local dealer who say that an acceptable rate of oil consumption for this engine is half a litre per 1000km/621 miles!!