My 1st TrackDay

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 1st TrackDay

I recently had my first track day with my ds3 thp.
    It was my first visit to the track, it was a short track with a 800m straight with a mix of open and twisty turns
    also I would say I am a novice track driver, so I didn't risk having the ESP turned off
    The car really felt poised, very direct , I also found the ESP really helpful although it was working a bit of overtime during 90degree turns but I found it helpful instead of delaying me around the track
    also the low rpm torque of the car really helped me accelerate fast out of corners
    My biggest smile at the end of the trackday were the 2 mazda mx5 (2.0) drivers and also the BMW 320i coupe driver that they 've done between 2-4seconds slower time than mine and they didn't believe me that it was a standard car with out anything being changed.

Great fun, my only comment was that I found the brakes a bit weak after 3 laps, and also I could hear a fan in the engine working, I am not sure if it was the intercooler or the radiator fan but it was a sunny day

Well worth buying my thp

Nice one Eagle. Yep- great fun. It whetted your appetite to do more?
    Did 3, 20 min seshs last year, want to do more this. Brakes get well squidgy when theyre hot.
    In fact you think they aint gonna work LOL
    Last edited by Chris_Blue; 02-02-2014, 20:42. Reason: comma insert
    sigpic
    Jog on Noddy

Comment

You know the feeling Chris then I was worried when the brake pedal kept going lower before the brakes 'bite' , I did two sessions of 15 minutes
      Maybe we will need to look for better /performance brake pads ?

Comment

Yes- that feeling can be quite worrying. Sometimes for a split second they dont work at all.... well that what it feels like
        There are threads on here about brake upgrades.