X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Timing chains, stuttering power on dsport red 2013 155bhp

First post on this forum so hi!!.

Firstly i have bought a 2013 d sport red 41k
    from a well know car supermarket (cars available &#128540.

Its got full cotroen service history and just expired its 3 year warranty.

Had the car 6 days and guess what i hear one morning after starting it up.....

Rattling timing chains!!!

Sooo i have taken it back to be told it was low on oil thats why its rattling!!!

No mate im no mechanic but im also very confident in my own mechanical abilities.

I know its the chains i have had a vr6 do the same in the past!!

Today i have been told its the chains and are being replaced for free of course under guarantee.

It also has a bit of hesitation on boost/acceleration.

I love the car and knowing that the timing chain has been replaced is very reassuring but its knocked my confidence in the car.

Am i just going to be on a never ending merigo round for the rest of this cars life??

Have they fixed the tensioner issue?? Will my timing be out after chains have been replaced???

Are there any other failures that need addressing at 40k.

Any advice will be greatful

Matt

https://youtu.be/1fI0dhWXgV4

Heres the video its 100% timing chains being replaced tommorow.

Comment

I had a 2011 THP 150 and a 2013 THP 155 and neither needed chains replacing. Although 24k and 27k ish mileage respective (Both sport red LOL)

I would also say it did rattle a bit if the oil wasnt completely topped up

Its easily heard in the winter, but i used to wait 2 mins before driving off for the oil to lube up the chain and never had any issues. i did listen a lot on cold mornings though.

TOTAL oil only, as specified for the car

Shouldnt really have an issue with the tensioner, and would have thought thatd be replaced as well as the loose chain
      sigpic
      Jog on Noddy

Comment